Home / Motocross / The 2019 Du Maroc Rally Belongs to Husqvarna – Andrew Short!

The 2019 Du Maroc Rally Belongs to Husqvarna – Andrew Short!

The world rally competition aka the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship 2019 has ended. As is known, in 2019 the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship competition will be held in four series including the Abu Dhabi Dessert Challenge, Silk Way Rally, Atacama Rally, and finally Rally du Maroc. The 2019 FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship champion has been known since the third series after the Atacama Rally, namely KTM Factory Racing Red Bull racer Sam Sunderlan because the number of points obtained is no longer possible to be overtaken by other drivers. But what about the final Rally du Maroc series? Who is the winner?

FYI, guys, the average racers and teams participating in the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship only consider this competition as a training ground in preparation for the Dakar Rally. They assess the level of the world championship is still below the Dakar Rally. But that does not mean they are not serious in this competition. They still want to prove themselves as the best in the world rally racing event while preparing themselves to face Dakar the following year.

The final FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship series was held in Morocco. The location of Morocco which is full of desert is indeed used for rally racing events as well as the racer and team training arena. The Rally du Maroc itself consists of five stages whose lanes are dominated by a very loose desert. Here the drivers and teams compete very tight. Evident from the winners of each different stage. Stage 1 was won by Sam Sunderland (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), Stage 2 by Joan Barreda (Monster Energy Honda Team), Stage 3 was controlled by Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), and on Stage 4 it was Paulo Goncalves (Hero Motorsport) Team Rally) wins. So this competition is very tight indeed.

But after all in a competition there will only be one winner. The racer who won the 2019 Rally du Maroc was Andrew Short from Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing thanks to his consistency throughout Stage 1 to Stage 5. This was also a historic record for Andrew Short because for the first time he could win the world rally championship at the same time reaching the runner-up position at the 2019 FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship. Andrew Short’s position in the final standings of the 2019 FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship is just below that of champion Sam Sunderland.

“I find it hard to believe. 
This isn’t like real to me. 
My main target for coming to Morocco is to be second in the championship, but to win is hard to believe. 
I came in second place during the Silk Way Rally ago, it was a huge achievement for me but at that time many top racers were absent. 
Now they are all at this event in order to prepare for Dakar and be able to win with very fierce competition like this, certainly extraordinary, “Short said.

The second position of the Rally du Maroc belongs to Andrew Short’s teammate, Pablo Quintanilla. Then the third position was won by Joan Barreda, while the fourth and fifth positions respectively belonged to Toby Price and Ricky Brabec (Monster Energy Honda Team). Now the rally racers must get ready in the face of the Dakar Rally which takes place in January 2020 in Saudi Arabia. No more racing events that are used for training so they will train privately with each team.

Check Also

In Japan and Europe, Luxury Sedans with Rusty Bodies Become a New Trend

The world of automotive world has always developed over time. Not only in terms of technology …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *